Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Join Antonio Sánchez on New Song: Listen


Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross Join Antonio Sánchez on New Song: Listen

“I Think We’re Past That Now” leads the Birdman composer’s new album SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II)

Antonio Snchez Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

Antonio Sánchez (Photo by Fernando Aceves); Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Matt Petit/A.M.P.A.S. via Getty Images)

The multi-instrumentalist and renowned drummer Antonio Sánchez has shared a new song featuring vocals from Nine Inch NailsTrent Reznor and, on synths, Atticus Ross. “I Think We’re Past That Now” leads Sánchez’s next album SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II), which arrives August 26 via Arts Music, a division of Warner Music. Sánchez produced the track and laid down drums, keyboards, guitars, bass, and additional vocals. Check out “I Think We’re Past That Now” and it’s accompanying visualizer below, and scroll down for the album’s tracklist and cover art.


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

In addition to Reznor and Ross, SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II) features a slew of guests, such as Dave Matthews, Becca Stevens, Meshell Ndegeocell, Kimbra, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and more. Sánchez commenced the project by approaching artists and asking them for songs to deconstruct and reimagine via his “Bad Hombre” alter-ego. “I Think We’re Past That Now,” which was co-written by Reznor, Ross, and Sanchez with lyrics by Reznor, is an exception to this method.

Of the album’s creation, Sánchez said in press materials:

My anger transformed. And the fact this material did not originate with me changed the equation. It helped me to bring a fresh perspective and a sense of wonder to “What else can this be?” And as a result of pandemic-related delays, I keep joking about my having been pregnant for a couple of years…and now there is a really epic baby.

Sánchez made his debut as bandleader with his 2007 LP Migration. In 2014,  his soundtrack for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s film Birdman snagged a Grammy Award for Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media.

SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II):

01 Opening [Ft. Ignacio López Tarso]
02 Eh Hee 2.0 [Ft. Dave Matthews and Pat Metheny]
03 Mi Palabra [Ft. Ana Tijoux]
04 The Bucket [Ft. Becca Stevens]
05 I Think We’re Past That Now [Ft. Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross]
06 Alambari [Ft. MARO]
07 Doyenne [Ft. SONICA]
08 Risa de Mujer [Ft. Lila Downs]
09 Trapped (Red Room) [Ft. Thana Alexa]
10 Comet, Come to Me [Ft. Meshell Ndegeocello]
11 Waiting [Ft. Antonio Sánchez]
12 Risa de Mujer (Interlude) [Ft. Lila Downs]
13 El Agua y la Miel [Ft. Silvana Estrada]
14 Suspended Animation [Ft. Kimbra]
15 M-Power [Ft. Rodrigo y Gabriela]
16 Closing [Ft. Ignacio López Tarso]

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Naomi Judd Honored at Memorial Service 2 Weeks After Her Death
Watch Burna Boy Close the Show at the 2022 Billboard Music Awards
‘Diary of Pamela Voorhees’ – ‘Jason Lives’ Director Reveals His New ‘Friday the 13th’ Idea [Exclusive]
Olivier Rousteing, Brandice Daniel, and Victor Glemaud Revisit Fashion’s Racial Reckoning
Patrick Schwarzenegger and More Join College-Set “The Boys” Spinoff Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.